Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Posted 31 August 2011 - 11:34 AM
Posted 31 August 2011 - 12:09 PM
Posted 01 September 2011 - 01:35 PM
Posted 07 September 2011 - 11:43 AM
Posted 09 September 2011 - 07:34 PM
I would say so, as long as said warrior with Doc skill was not involved in either of those. What does everyone else think?
I've got an additional question.
7) Doc Skill.
The rules for the Doc skill reads "At the end of the game you can re-roll a single serious injury result for each Doc in your mob." Can you re-roll serious injury results that happen due to a pit fight or eksperimentation result. Both of these happen at the end or between games depending on how your club tallies up results.
Posted 22 November 2011 - 06:03 PM
Posted 24 November 2011 - 04:27 PM
1) Multiple combats.
The rules are only clear on what happens in combats with either a 1v1 fight, or multiple fighters vs 1. When you have a 3v2 fight it's not clear about who can fight whom as not all the models will be in base to base with each other, who is prevented from being finished off when knocked down, etc.
Our group has taken to separating combats when a 2v1 becomes a 2v2 into as many single combats as possible, following the old 2nd Edition 40k rules.
Necromunda specifically mentions that the combat system is based on one-on-one fights, and Multiple Combats are based on one model being outnumbered. Fray splitting as they did in 2nd Edition is the best solution. Interestingly this has never been mentioned in any Necromunda FAQ. I presume people either fight it out as it happens or use some common sense (as above).
The charging rules basically describe it as a double move that puts you into base to base with your target. The rules on page 10 of Da Rules seem to be missing:
- something to prevent you from charging models you can't see (out of LOS behind terrain)
There are a few issues with this, and the Necromunda FAQ has addressed this twice. The first says you can charge models out of LOS if they are within your initiative range, however the second variation just lets you charge them. Both rules draw a distinction between models that are out of LOS and those that are hidden. In both rulesets it is Hidden models that cannot be charged, although the charge movement may reveal a hidden model for another model to be charged in the latter clarification.
I'd take the Necromunda rules as the answer on this imo. Others may disagree, but the games use almost identical core rulesets.
- rules forcing you to charge the nearest target (which are mentioned on page 60 of Da Uvver Book under the Well 'Ard skill)
Because of the existence of this skill, I think it would be bad form not to include this in an FAQ. I'd advise Gorkamorka players to use this as a rule, if only to help resolve some of the other rules issues and to make the Well 'Ard skill work.
Also, being a former Mordhiem player:
- rules to prevent you from piling up 2-3 guys against 1, when you have other unoccupied enemy models standing right next to the combat
- rules to make you charge in a straight line so you can't run around enemy models to attack ones standing behind
That's Mordheim, imo. I could understand taking rules concepts from Necromunda (which is a virtually identical system) but Mordheim is considerably different. That said, if you incorporate the closest charging rule into the FAQ, I'd definitely consider making an exception based on the above rule, of ruling out occupied enemy models much in the same way that shooting in Necromunda can disregard models in better cover vs. ones out in the open (as a matter of fact I'd even suggest writing the rule in the FAQ to allow players to potentially ignore models in cover when choosing what to charge as well).
As to the straight line rule, it may be worth considering, but Necromunda doesn't have it anyway. Besides, with the closest charging rule in place, you most likely wouldn't really need this rule.
6) Scorchas and kustomizing.
The rules for Kannons, Stickbombs, Crossbows and Bows all have specific rules about customizing them. Scorchas seem to be missing these rules as I can't figure out how to add more range or a sustained fire dice to a scorcha template.
Probably because it cannot be kustomised.
Anyway, I definitely think we should use this thread to discuss writing an FAQ. To help us get started, I'm going to share my copy of the Necromunda Answer Mod FAQ, which I'm not really supposed to share, but the SG forum isn't doing anything at the moment for Necromunda, whereas tUGS are getting things done for GoMo quite regularly. So this may help a bit:
answer_mod_faq___10_10_2008.pdf 456.6KB 12 downloads
Unfortunately, despite pinching the rules for vehicles from GoMo for Ash Wastes, they're barely developed, and the FAQ doesn't address any vehicle-based issues whatsoever. So with the Vehicles we'll probably have to make more logical conclusions on our own wits, because Necro offers little help in that regard.
I will advise players against using RAW to solve rules issues. This isn't 40k, you're expected to take logical decisions yourself, and adapt the rules with house rules, rather than try to literally analyse the wording as if the answer lies within it. Keep that for the kiddies' games.