Welcome to Da WAAAGH
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Cleaning models before paint

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
9 replies to this topic

Kurkfash

Kurkfash

Speckled Bloodshade Fungus

• Grotz
  • 24 posts
This is a total noob question (and probably a stupid question) but I just wanted to make sure. I used a little vaseline to keep my tools from sticking to green stuff while working on my army, and I've heard it's important to wash greasy stuff off before priming, as it can keep the paint from sticking. Should I just use warm water and soap like I did before I assembled everything? I guess I'm just concerned about any negative effects it could have on glue/green stuff/whatever. I'm not even sure what effects it could possibly have, I just want to make sure I don't screw up anything after I spent so much time putting it all together. I searched around for an answer to this but as you might imagine "washing" just got me info on using washes, and "cleaning" got me info on stripping paint from models. Sorry for the stupid question...

Keg

Keg

'Ead Graft

• Deathskullz
  • 718 posts
  • Army Name:Keg'z Mek 'Eadz
I don't think there really is a need to wash your models before priming/painting unless your miniatures are genuinely greasy or dirty. At least I never have, it was to my understanding the only material that you should wash before priming would be resin models. However, I guess there is no harm in washing them anyway, if that's what you're into? If that's the case I'd assume warm water and maybe a toothbrush would be good enough? Keg

Ozzie

Ozzie

Kickin' Grot

• Boyz
  • 133 posts
  • Army Name:-