Jump to content

Welcome to Da WAAAGH
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

KFF

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
69 replies to this topic

#21
Klenval

Klenval

    Throws the bomb, not the pin.

  • Grotz
  • 1 posts

This is stated in the FAQ of the Warhammer 40,000 Rulebook

 

Q. Can you clarify what the difference is between ‘wholly within’
and ‘within’ for rules purposes?

 

A. If a rule says it affects units/models that are ‘wholly
within’ then it only applies if the entire unit/model is
within. If it just says ‘within’, however, then it applies so
long as any part of the unit/model is within.

 

For example, units gain the benefit of cover if every
model in the unit is either on or within terrain. So long
as all the models in that unit are either on or partially
within the terrain, they gain the benefit of cover.

 

KFF has a bit of a different wording "entirely within" instead of "wholly within" but it's the same really, so all of the model base needs to be inside the KFF bubble. (i miss the old way)

 

But don't KFF have exactly the same wording as the cover rule ?

 

"If a unit is entirely on or within any terrain feature..."



#22
warhead01

warhead01

    Flash Git

  • Boyz
  • 1,117 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Crescent City FL.
  • Army Name:Waaagh Gor-Gak !

 

But don't KFF have exactly the same wording as the cover rule ?

 

"If a unit is entirely on or within any terrain feature..."

No what I have says 

If the unit is entirely within.  Not on or within.  
Unless they have made a change to the digital Epubs? Doubtful.


  • Choppanob likes this

Kick me! to see da blog! WWWAAAAAAUGH!!!

Takein' yer place at da top uv da Heap!


#23
The Northern Ork

The Northern Ork

    Shoota Boy

  • Boyz
  • 276 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deep darkness of the Warp
  • Army Name:The Dark Warpers

I actually don't see what all the squig fuzz is about. It's quite clearly stated in the description, the unit has to be entirely inside the bubble to be affected by the KFF.

 

People have also tried to compare to aura's, but its really really different. An aura is the boss yelling at a boy close by and he relays it down the line. The KFF is a ''physical'' bubble.

 

Kill off the guys outside of the bubble and voila, 5+ restored.

 

And 9'' is a pretty big bubble. Even bigger if put on a Morkanaut. Then its more like 12'' wide.

 

My two teef

 

TNO 


"THIS IS WARPERS TERRITORY" Taken from last transmission from Battle Ship Emperor's Fist, Quadrant Delta Omega Three.

#24
PeaceCraft

PeaceCraft

    'Ard Boy

  • Boyz
  • 820 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
  • Army Name:Da KogDeff Broozaz

i was wondering about the same thing and was thinking of posting this infograph style question directly at warhammer community...

eventually. in the meantime i'll post it here

qCYqeVT.jpg

 

you guys think the question is understadable the way i put it?


  • warhead01, det, Blakkreaper and 10 others like this

#25
StormGuard

StormGuard

    Bag Squig

  • Boyz
  • 102 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

That is an excellent way of putting it, its clear and concise, with a little humour throne in. :thumbs

 

SG.


Demo Charges 101:  Pull Pin, Throw, Run Away Very Fast.


#26
Choppanob

Choppanob

    Squigpipes

  • Grotz
  • 67 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Army Name:Still working on that one

:thumbs I love it :love


:yes Live off the land. :search Go to find war. :dakka Kill wot comes close. :thumbs Da old ways are best.


#27
The Northern Ork

The Northern Ork

    Shoota Boy

  • Boyz
  • 276 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deep darkness of the Warp
  • Army Name:The Dark Warpers

Thumbs up and cudo's.... please, do share!!!! 


"THIS IS WARPERS TERRITORY" Taken from last transmission from Battle Ship Emperor's Fist, Quadrant Delta Omega Three.

#28
Greyhound

Greyhound

    Tankbusta Boy

  • Boyz
  • 418 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne - Australia
  • Army Name:Greyhound's Horde
It's very clear but the answer remains: clipping will not work
  • lachlin likes this

#29
Greyhound

Greyhound

    Tankbusta Boy

  • Boyz
  • 418 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne - Australia
  • Army Name:Greyhound's Horde
Also, your Mek does not have to cower behind the vehicle, he can proudly walk to its side, he won't be targeted until that battlewagon is gone

#30
laughterofgods

laughterofgods

    Skarboy

  • Boyz
  • 1,481 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buffalo, NY

That was the best info graphic I have ever seen.  Please share that to the Warhammer community page on facebook.



#31
PeaceCraft

PeaceCraft

    'Ard Boy

  • Boyz
  • 820 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
  • Army Name:Da KogDeff Broozaz
Thanks guys! I'll post it on The faq thread on warhammer comunity to see if i get a definate answer from them.
@greyhound:ahhh True! I was Just worried Cuz my oponente seem to have those zippy fast shooters hanging around The combat.

I had an idea: if we gather a few of The more commonly asked Orky questions, maybe I could make a easy to understand infograph and make it available here in The forums. Does this sound doable?
  • warhead01, det, Blakkreaper and 5 others like this

#32
teister

teister

    Kickin' Grot

  • Boyz
  • 130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Den Helder
  • Army Name:Da Ard Krumpa's
That sounds awesome! Lead the way, and inspire GWS and others in the process.
WAAAGH is da WAY FORWARD!

#33
warhead01

warhead01

    Flash Git

  • Boyz
  • 1,117 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Crescent City FL.
  • Army Name:Waaagh Gor-Gak !

This just in. 
But was it a change?
Updated FAQ

 

Pages 14, 15, 16, 31 and 38 – Kustom Force Field Change the first sentence of this rule to read: ‘If this model is equipped with a kustom force field, friendly Ork units that are entirely within 9" have a 5+ invulnerable save against ranged weapons.’

https://17890-pressc...s_2_ver_1.1.pdf


Kick me! to see da blog! WWWAAAAAAUGH!!!

Takein' yer place at da top uv da Heap!


#34
StormGuard

StormGuard

    Bag Squig

  • Boyz
  • 102 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

That FAQ doesn't change the KFF at all, from what I can tell anyway, unless I'm missing something. :rolleyes

 

SG,


Demo Charges 101:  Pull Pin, Throw, Run Away Very Fast.


#35
Orkimedez

Orkimedez

    Grot Oiler

  • Boyz
  • 165 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Munich, Germany
  • Army Name:Waagh
If you keep reading you will see in the Q, that the KFF is an aura.

#36
warhead01

warhead01

    Flash Git

  • Boyz
  • 1,117 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Crescent City FL.
  • Army Name:Waaagh Gor-Gak !

If you keep reading you will see in the Q, that the KFF is an aura.

ORKS Q: Is the Kustom Force Field ability an aura ability? A: Yes.


Now my brain hurts.  How is it an aura and units entirely within... That seems inside out....  
What's just happened? 


Kick me! to see da blog! WWWAAAAAAUGH!!!

Takein' yer place at da top uv da Heap!


#37
Skumdreg

Skumdreg

    Slugga Boy

  • Boyz
  • 375 posts
  • Army Name:Dreg Boyz

Wait, somebody please explain to me what is an aura? And why is it any different from a bubble force field? Sometimes I think GW just gives Orks to the volunteer intern... 


  • skarnir likes this

#38
toaae

toaae

    Snotling

  • Boyz
  • 120 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Long Beach, CA
  • Army Name:WAAAGH! Tortoof

Auras are in the margin of the rules. It only mentions that characters are always in range of their own Aura.

As far as I can tell, the recent FAQ has no changes on the KFF, just clarified that a big mek does get the save.



#39
StormGuard

StormGuard

    Bag Squig

  • Boyz
  • 102 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Right, I got it, I thought that was what Aura did, and now I know for sure. :D

 

SG,


Demo Charges 101:  Pull Pin, Throw, Run Away Very Fast.


#40
Orkimedez

Orkimedez

    Grot Oiler

  • Boyz
  • 165 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Munich, Germany
  • Army Name:Waagh
As I undertand the concept of aura, an unitary vehicle unit partially within range of the KFF has a cover save. Now, the debate stays the same, if any part of a mini is within range, does the whole mini count within?