IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> What to thin GW paint with for airbrushing?
yoho1.5
post Dec 1 2011, 04:31 PM
Post #1

Burna Boy

Group: Boyz
Member No.: 3,340

hi I have a silver jet compressor and a neo gun and I'm base coating, camoflauging vehicles. I'm new to air brushing and just looking to urban camo using ultramarine blue, enchanted blue, regal blue and fortress gray. The ultra blue seems to split easily, been using isopropol alcohol to thin it, it worked okay. What do you guys thin your paint with?

--------------------
Reduce! (Dakka, Krump) Reuse! (with help from Doks 'n Meks) Recycle! (Loot, 'n Loot more) GO GREEN!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Trogdar
post Dec 1 2011, 09:33 PM
Post #2

Grot Oiler

Member No.: 10,145

I'm no pro, but I use water with a GW airbrush.

+Quote Post
Da Blue Faced Mo...
post Dec 2 2011, 06:30 AM
Post #3

Throws the bomb, not the pin.

Group: Grotz
Member No.: 12,805

If your going to use the alcohol, I would mix it 1 part alcohol to 5-10 parts water. Every time I have have used straight alcohol, my paints have separated completely, no matter how much stirring I have do.

I use straight distilled water, and rarely use the alcohol/distilled water mix, but when I do, I use a 1/10 ratio for mine. All the alcohol does is break water tension slightly and allow the liquid to dry faster than straight water. For reference, I use a Paasche Talon with a one of their compressors as well.

+Quote Post
Agatheron
post Dec 6 2011, 12:16 PM
Post #4

Blue Thunda Ace
Group Icon

Group: Nobz
Member No.: 32